Winter Things: the Cover

I am by nature a very visual person. I knew when I decided to self-publish “Winter Things” that the cover was going to be really important to me. I didn’t want to just choose some stock image. I wanted it to be an image that captured the way the Christmas season made me feel and the overall feel of this anthology. 

For me, Christmastime is the most romantic time of year, which is why most of the stories in the anthology revolve around a love story of some kind. I wanted the cover to reflect that. I considered all sorts of things from having someone draw a cover to asking one of the real-life couples I knew to pose for the cover. 

In the end, however, I realized it was really important for me to have a multi-ethnic couple on the cover of my book. The greatest part about making independent art is the ability to create your own rules. Hopefully someday I will be working with a publishing company that will have all sort of input on what goes inside my book and what it looks like on the outside, but for now, I am my own boss. For me, it was important that there wasn’t some “generic” white couple on the cover if for no other reason than because “generic couple” somehow automatically means all white and probably blonde. I’d like to do what I can to change that stereotype or at least challenge it.

Once I had landed on a general concept for the cover, I needed to find someone to pose for it. That then led me to rack my brain for any non-white models I knew. I came up blank, which is when I realized that I had to be the representation I was seeking. So no, the decision to put myself on the cover was not because I’m just that full of myself. It’s because I think it’s important to see girls like me on the cover of books. And I am so excited for a Christmas romance book to be out in the Kindle universe with a multi-racial couple on the front.

The search then began for a male model and a photographer. Spoiler alert: I found them and they were both amazing!

More on the cover team later this week along with some fun BTS from the cover shoot! In the meantime, here’s a picture of the dream team to tie you over.

Stay tuned…

xoxo, CMB

Leave a Reply

